Meet The Owners!

Barbara & Mac Vann - Owners

image22

Meet the Captain

Sophia - Executive Director

image23

 I joined DHLC in September 2009. I have NC Credentials ; an Associates in Arts with concentration in Elementary Education as well as a Bachelor’s in Birth to Kindergarten. I am also recognized by the NC Division of Child Development for having the highest administration qualifications, Level 3, which is a requirement for administrating a 5 STAR facility . I am also a certified trainer through  DCDEE , a member of The Director Leadership Academy and I  have more than 10 years experience in Early Childhood Education. I started my journey in this field as an Infant Teacher and I have taught in all age groups through Pre-K. My passion is my children, Jaylen & Jordan. I enjoy the beach, attending my boys’ extracurricular activities & staying fit. I strive for an organized work environment & staying positive! 

Meet the Co-Captains

Jennifer - Assistant Director

image24

I joined DHLC in March of 2019. I have NC Credentials 1 & 2 as well as Administrative Credentials. During my 20+ years in Early Childhood Education, I have served as a teacher, administrative assistant, and director. While away from work, I enjoying spending time with my family, volunteering, kayaking, and baking.  

Beth - Assistant Director

image25

 I joined DHLC in November 2015. I have NC Credentials 1 & 2 as well as Administrative Credentials. I have more than 12 years experience in childcare. I enjoy spending time with my family, reading, traveling & relaxing at the lake! I love watching children learn & grow!    


Debbie -Child Enrollment Specialist

image26

I joined DHLC in April 2018. I have a Bachelor’s Degree in Business Administration with a minor in Early Childhood Education. I’ve worked in childcare for over 5 years and love it! I’m the oldest of eight so the love of children has always been within me. The person that brings the most joy to my life is my beautiful daughter, Jordyn. I believe the earlier years for children are the most important and I’m thrilled to be apart of it!

Felicia - Guppies (Infants)

image27

  

I joined DHLC in July 2015. I have NC Credentials 1 & 2 as well as several years experience. I enjoy watching television & going out to eat. I love working with children!!

Kim - Guppies (Infants)

image28

  

I joined DHLC in April 2016. My friends and family call me Kim! I moved here to Charlotte from Valdosta, GA two years ago. I have worked in Education for 12 years; teaching is my passion. I am also a mother to a wonderful little girl named Hope. I love to travel and read. I am very excited about working at DHLC!!


Christy - Minnows Infant/Toddlers

image29

I joined DHLC in Oct. 2016. I have worked in the childcare field for over a year now. I have 2 children of my own ages 9 & 11. My hobbies include assistant coaching my daughter’s cheerleading team and helping my son with Boy Scouts. I have a Bachelor’s Degree in Educational Studies as well as NC Credentials 1 & 2. 

Morgan - Penguins-(18 mths -2 years old)

image30

My name is Morgan, I am recent Liberty University graduate with a Bachelor of Science in family and child and development and a minor in psychology. I grew up in Gastonia and recently made the move back to North Carolina in August. Working with children has always been a passion of mine since I grew up with a large and blended family. While attending school I worked at a daycare and volunteered as a Sunday school teacher. I look forward to getting to know you and your child and would happily answer any other questions you might have for me.

Jennifer - Sea-turtles (2-2.5 years old)

image31

I have been working in childcare for over 14 years. I rejoined DHLC in November 2018. I am a mother of the two most amazing people; Aliyah (12) & Isaiah (1). My daughter is homeschooled and my son is a student here at DHLC. Outside of childcare I love anything artistic. In 2011 I began a photography business, Jennifer Walker Photo & 2017 I opened a children's clothing line, Carolina Classics of Charlotte. 

Kelly- Seaturtles ( 2-2.5 years old)

image32

I officially joined the DHLC team October 1, 2018!  I have always been a major part of the lives of children for many, many years.  I was a nanny for several years, worked in a CMS school as a Teacher Assistant to children with severe Autism, and was recently the Lead Teacher for a 2-year old classroom at another preschool before jumping on board at DHLC.  I have a degree in Interior Design, an Associate in Arts degree, and plan to finish my Early Childhood degree at CPCC before transferring to a four-year university to complete a BA degree in Birth-Kindergarten.  Family means everything to me, and my wife and I recently got our license for foster care and adoption.  Our first placement on July 13, 2018 was for a 15-month old boy, and a 3-month old girl. Life has been very busy, but so rewarding!  They are currently enrolled at DHLC, and I love being able to bring them to work with me, and take them home with me.  As you can tell, I love children!!! 

ShaQUita-Startfish-(3-3.5 yrs. old)

image33

I was born in Charlotte, NC and Graduated from Livingstone College in Salisbury, NC. I have been working with children for more than 6 years and love what I do. I love shopping and hanging with family during my free time. #iteach

Joanne Zieigler -Dolphins-3.5-4 yrs. old)

image34

I am a mom of 2 girls, a Meme of 2 grandchildren a boy and a girl. I love doing crafts. My family is the most important thing to me. I enjoy going to church and reading my Bible. I have been in the childcare field for over 15 years. I enjoy teaching children new things. I have a degree in Early Childhood Education and I’m certified in Social Work

Shearee - Whales (2.5-3 yrs. old)

image35

 I joined DHLC in September 2015. I have NC Credentials 1 & 2 and BSAC. I enjoy working, shopping & doing hair. I love working with children and enjoy teamwork!

Dejah- Stingrays (Pre K 4-5 yrs. old)

image36

I joined DHLC in May of 2018. I have a B.S. in Psychology. I am currently in Graduate School at UNC Charlotte obtaining my B-K license. My current studies have given me the opportunity to volunteer in Pre-K classrooms for 3 years. I have been a student-athlete for many years running track and field. I am an outgoing person who loves to dance, workout, and be surrounded by my family and friends. I enjoy good company, family cookouts, and having a fun time! 

Kaitlin-Guppies (Infants)

image37

I am originally from New York. I went to New Hampshire for college where I met my fiancé. We moved to Charlotte in January 2019 with our dog, Maverick . I have a Bachelors degree in Early Childhood Education and I am currently working on my Masters degree in Education.     


Chivella - Guppies (Infants)

image38

  

I joined DHLC in May 2016. I graduated from NC Central University last December with a BS Degree in Family and Consumer Science; with a concentration in Family Relations. I really enjoy watching children grow and develop to meet all their milestones.

Robin - Sea Lions (Pre K 4-5 yrs. old)

image39

  

I joined DHLC in August 2014. I have a B. S. in Early Childhood Education. I enjoy taking care of my teenage daughter & working out. I love making a difference in a child’s life. 

Kim - School-age

image40

  

I joined DHLC in Oct. 2016. I have been working in childcare for over 20 years. I truly enjoy children and love the challenge of molding and shaping them. I am married and have one daughter. I love spending time with my family, traveling, playing tennis, shopping and just relaxing. 

Maricela-Support Staff-(ECERS)

image41

My name is Maricela Suarezz. I am 18 years old and love helping people. I love seeing a smile on everyone's face. I have a fantastic family that I love with all my heart. They’re the reason I never give up. One of my biggest dreams is to become a doctor and help as many people as I can. I also want to go to Mexico and help the sick people who cant afford medical care. I enjoy playing and watching soccer. 

Cheva - Support Staff-(ITERS & ECERS)

image42

  

I joined DHLC in May 2017. I am a little shy at times but once you get to know me, you’ll find that I am super friendly, outgoing and I love to smile! I am the type of person who will brighten your day! I have NC Credentials 1 & 2 as well as a Culinary Arts Degree from CPCC.

Nancy- Support Staff - (ITERS)

image43

I joined DHLC in March 2018. Spending time with family means everything to me. My 12 year old daughter is my world. I spend my free time babysitting and doing arts & crafts with my one year old God son, Damari and my four year old niece, Nevaeh. I look forward to furthering my education in Early Childhood Development this year. 

Ruthie - Chef

image44

I joined DHLC in February 2017. I was born in the Florida Keys. I attended Mountaineer Beauty College in West Virginia where I obtained my cosmetology license. I had an in-home child care center for many years. I love children; especially my grandchildren! I enjoy music and attending concerts.

 

Application/Career Opportunities